NBN 3 Year Plan

NBN has announced a 3 Year Plan that sees a large number of new suburbs set to be connected to the National Broadband Network. This is the first time that the hybrid fibre coaxial (HFC) rollout method will be included in NBN’s construction plan.

The NBN 3 Year Plan outlines the areas where almost 3 million premises across the country will receive the new fibre-coaxial technology.NBN 3 Year Plan

By the end of 2018, NBN’s forecasted figured for connected premises & technologies are:

  • FTTN, FTTB or FTTP – over 5.6 million
  • HFC – Almost 3 Million
  • Fixed Wireless – over 1/2 a Million

The numbers of homes and businesses in each state and Territory planned to start construction by September 2018 are:

State or TerritoryEstimated no of premises in plan to start construction by Sept 2018


NBN CEO, Bill Morrow has said “This is another big step toward our goal of connecting 8 million homes and businesses by 2020.”

As NBN winds down the rollout of delivering FTTP technology, the 3 Year Construction Plan sees only 17 lucky towns listed to receive Fibre all the way to their premises.

NBN expects to have full coverage for all premises within NT and TAS by 2018.

Check out if you’re on the list for the 3 Year Construction Plan here:

Below are the 219 regions that will have NBN rolled out to via HFC by the end of 2018.


Ashfield, Balgowlah, Balmain, Bankstown, Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Waverley, Botany, Burwood, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Chatswood, Como, Coogee, Carramar, Cremorne, City south, Dalley, Drummoyne, Dural, City east, Edgecliff, Engadine, Epping, Edensor Park, St Mary’s, Glebe, Guildford, Harbord, Homebush, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Hurstville, Minto, Killara, Kensington, Kogarah, Lakemba, Liverpool, Matraville, Menai, Miller, Miranda, Mona Vale, Mosman, Newtown, Orchard Hill, Peakhurst, Petersham, Pennant Hills, Pymble, Quakers Hill, Ramsgate, Eastwood, Redfern, Rockdale, Rose Bay, Rooty Hill, Ryde, Sefton, Seven Hills, Shalvey, Silverwater, Springwood, St Leonards, Undercliff, Wetherill Park, Northbridge and Wahroonga.


Acacia Ridge, Albany Creek, Albion, Ashgrove, Cleveland, Aspley, Arundel, Ashmore, Bundamba, Beenleigh, Bald Hills, Browns Plains, Brassal, Burleigh Heads, Chermside, Charlotte, Chapel Hills, Capalaba, Camp Hill, Currumbin, Darra, Eight Mile, Ferny Hills, Inala, Ipswich, Loganholme, Mount Gravatt, Gold Coast-Tweed Heads, Merrimac, Nudgee, Paradise Point, Redcliffe, Rothwell, Springfield, Slacks Creek, Southport, Stephens, Sherwood, Salisbury, Surfers Paradise, Tingalpa, Toowong, Woolloongabba, Warner, Waterford.


Brighton, Croydon Sa, Edwardston, Elizabeth, Flinders, Glenelg, Golden Grove, Gepps Cross, Glenunga, Henley Beach, Hampstead, Modbury, Norwood, Paradise, Reynella, Salisbury, West Adelaide.


Altona, Bayswater, Bundoora, Broadmeadows, Brighton, Blackburn, Bentleigh, Box Hill, Burwood, Canterbury, Caulfield, Coburg, Clayton, Croydon, Chelsea, Cheltenham, Collingwood, Dandenong, Dandenong North, Doncaster East, Deepdene, Deer Park, Eltham, Endeavour Hills, Exhibition, Fawkner, Ferntree Gully, Frankston, Footscray, Flemington, Greensborough, Glen Iris, Hawthorn, Heidelberg, Highett, Kew, Keysborough, Kings Park, Keilor, Keilor East, Kooyong, Lilydale, Lonsdale, Laverton, Maidstone, Mordialloc, Mitcham, Moreland, Melton, Mount Eliza, Montrose, Narre Warren, North Balwyn, Northcote, North Essendon, North Melbourne, Newport, Oakleigh, Port Melbourne, Richmond, Reservoir, Ringwood, Scoresby, Seaford, South Oakleigh, Springvale, Sunshine, South Yarra, Thornbury, Tarneit, Thomastown, Tally Ho, Werribee, Wheelers Hill, Windsor.


Applecross, Cottesloe, Ellenbrook, Girrawheen, Hamersley, Joondalup, Jandakot South, Kingsley, Mullaloo, South Perth (Como), Subiaco, Wembley.